Ago 19, 2012 - musica    Commenti disabilitati su The Spanish Lady

The Spanish Lady

C’è questa faccenduola tradizionale irlandese, che mi mette di buon umore – soprattutto nella versione delle Celtic Women*:

Questa è una variante** delle parole:

As I went down to Dublin city,
At the hour of twelve at night,
Who should I see but the Spanish Lady,
Washing her feet by candle-light.
First she washed them, then she dried them
Over a fire of amber coal,
In all my life I ne’er did see
A maid so sweet about the soul.

CHORUS:
Whack fol the toora, loora laddie
Whack fol the toora loora lay

As I went back through Dublin city
At the hour of half-past eight
Who should I see but the Spanish Lady
Brushing her hair outside the gate.
First she brushed it, then she combed it,
On her hand was a silver comb.
In all my life I ne’er did see
A maid so fair since I did roam.

CHORUS

As I came back through Dublin city
As the sun began to set
Who should I see but the Spanish Lady
Catching a moth in a golden net.
When she saw me then she fled me
Lifting her petticoat over her knee
In all my life I ne’er did see
A maid so shy as the Spanish Lady.

CHORUS

E buona domenica a tutti.

_______________________________________________________

* Mah… Il gruppo si chiama Celtic Woman, ma ho qualche difficoltà a chiamarle “le Celtic Woman”…

 

The Spanish Ladyultima modifica: 2012-08-19T08:10:00+02:00da laclarina
Reposta per primo quest’articolo

I commenti sono chiusi.